Whittier Union High School District

To Achieve and Maintain Excellence

Return to Headlines

Students Receive National Merit Recognition

Five Whittier Union High School District seniors recently were named Commended Students in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program.

A Letter of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, was presented to the students, all of whom are seniors, by their respective principals. The Commended students are: Matthew Gutierrez, Santa Fe High School; Daniel Becerra, Brittney Leibert, Thalia Nguyen, and Arjan Sudick from La Serna High School.

Awarded to high school seniors who have demonstrated academic excellence in their high school careers, the National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Student honor is bestowed upon students who scored among the top five percent of students who entered the competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) in their junior year. This year’s recipients placed in the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2012 competition.

Also, nine La Serna High School seniors were selected as 2011-12 National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) Scholars or Honorable Mentions. The NHRP recognizes the top 5,000 students across the nation from over 235,000 juniors who took the 2010 PSAT.

The following La Serna seniors were selected as NHRP Scholars: Alexa Aguayo, Brandon Galvan, Nicolas Guangorena, Nicole Guerrero, Cristina Moisa, Victoria Ramirez, and Efren Tostado. Daniel Becerra and Joaquin Gomez-Garcia received Honorable Mentions.